Bovey Tracey Primary School


Our Governors’ Role

Governors represent the largest group of voluntary workers in the country and exists to promote the interests of the school and its children. Although each governing body will reflect the needs of their individual school, the governors have 3 main roles within the school community:

1. To provide a strategic view

Governors help to decide the ways to improve the school so that children learn effectively and achieve the highest possible standards.

2. To act as a critical friend

Governors also have a supportive role and through their expertise and knowledge take responsibility for monitoring the school’s effectiveness by asking questions and seeking to make improvements.

3. To ensure accountability

The governing body is responsible for ensuring quality education and has a duty to discuss and question proposals that affect this.

 The current governing body is :

Name Category Appointed by

Term of office ends

(term of office)

Committee membership Responsibilities
Sarah Baker Parent Governor Parental vote


(4 years)

Teaching & Learning  
Bryony Burcher-Lewis Parent Governor Parental vote


(4 years)

Resources (Chair) Financial Lead
Rebecca Cosgrave Local Authority Governing Body


(4 years)

Teaching & Learning; Resources Co-chair of Governing Body
Rebecca Forrest Co-opted Governing Body


(4 years)

Teaching & Learning; Resources  
Oliver Garrett Co-opted Governing Body


(4 years)

Teaching & Learning (Chair) Vice Chair of Governing Body
Amber Macdonald Co-opted Governing Body


(4 years)

Teaching & Learning; Resources Co-chair of Governing Body
James McCauley Parent Governor Parental vote


(4 years)

Teaching & Learning  
Jon Moore Co-opted Governing Body


(4 years)

Resources Premises
Patrick Oaff Staff Governor Staff vote


(4 years)

Teaching & Learning  
Louise Prywata Head Teacher School As post Teaching & Learning; Resources  
Henry Tobin Co-opted Governing Body


(4 years)

Resources Health & Safety
Karen Venn-Dunn Parent Governor Parental vote


(4 years)



Chair of the Governors - Mrs Rebecca Cosgrave and Mrs Amber Macdonald


Clerk to the Governors - Mrs Nikki Evans


The Chair or Clerk to the Governors can be contacted at the school - 01626 833257.


If there are any matters regarding the school which you wish to discuss, any of the governors will be happy to talk them over with you.


We are organised into 2 committees: Resources (covering finance, personnel, premises and health & safety and welfare) and Teaching and Learning (covering curriculum, inclusion/SEND, school improvement, community and parent links) with an appointed Chair and Terms of Reference for each.  Each governor is assigned to a committee, with the Head and Co-Chairs attending all meetings.  Some governors also have lead responsibilities.
We meet as a full Governing Body once every half-term, and in committees once a term.